CEW History

The Aquatic Toxicity Workshop (ATW) series began in 1974 when a group of toxicologists held a coordination meeting at the Freshwater Institute in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Presentations were made by 23 representatives from federal, provincial, university and private sector groups that included an overview of their research activities and key personnel. This workshop recognized the need for an annual meeting where current and emerging issues can be presented, and to encourage open dialogue between the research sector and regulatory agencies.

The focus of the workshops expanded from chemical lethality tests on fish and invertebrates to impacts by chemical, physical and biological agents on the integrity of aquatic ecosystems, and the need for proactive measures to protect this renewable resource. Links to wildlife ecotoxicology, sediment/soil toxicity issues and ecosystem science emerged as the field of aquatic toxicology evolved. In 2014, the Board of Directors voted to formally expand the topics addressed at ATW by adopting the operating name of Canadian Ecotoxicity Workshop (CEW).

These workshops are well attended by researchers and managers from the public, academic and private sectors. Student participation is strongly encouraged through reduced registration cost, mentoring and student poster and paper presentation awards.

2021Halifax, Nova Scotia
2019Québec City, Québec
2018Vancouver, British Columbia
2017Guelph, Ontario
2016Edmonton , Alberta
2015Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
2014Ottawa, Ontario
2013Moncton, New Brunswick
2012Sun Peaks, British Columbia
2011Winnipeg, Manitoba
2010Toronto, Ontario
2009La Malbaie, Québec
2008Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
2007Halifax, Nova Scotia
2006Jasper, Alberta
2005Waterloo, Ontario
2004Charlottetown, PEI
2003Ottawa, Ontario
2002Whistler, British Columbia
2001Winnipeg, Manitoba
2000St. John's, Newfoundland
1999Edmonton, Alberta
1998Québec City, Québec
1997Niagara Falls, Ontario
1996Calgary, Alberta
1995St. Andrews, New Brunswick
1994Sarnia, Ontario
1993Québec City, Québec
1992Edmonton, Alberta
1991Ottawa, Ontario
1990Vancouver, British Columbia
1989Winnipeg, Manitoba
1988Montré‚al, Québec
1987Toronto, Ontario
1986Moncton, New Brunswick
1985Thunder Bay, Ontario
1984Vancouver, British Columbia
1983Halifax, Nova Scotia
1982Edmonton, Alberta
1981Guelph, Ontario
1980Montré‚al, Québec
1979Winnipeg, Manitoba
1978Hamilton, Ontario
1977Vancouver, British Columbia
1976Halifax, Nova Scotia