The Aquatic Toxicity Workshop (ATW) became a registered Canadian corporation in 1984, and is administered by a Board of Directors. The Board provides guidance on issues that may affect the future direction of the workshop series, and serves in an advisory capacity to the Organizing Committees.

In 2014, following two years of membership engagement on the workshop’s identity, the Board of Directors voted to modify the operating name to Canadian Ecotoxicity Workshop (CEW) to reflect the broader scope of ecological toxicology issues addressed at the annual workshop. The corporate name remains as The Canadian National Aquatic Toxicity Workshop.

CEW is held annually in a different region of Canada to draw interest among a wider group of ecotoxicologists and to gain a national perspective of current and emerging issues. These three-day workshops are traditionally held in the fall, where 200-400 participants take in more than 150 platform and poster presentations.

Each workshop is hosted by a local Organizing Committee on behalf on the Board. Workshops are organized on a two-year planning schedule, where arrangements for the date and location are finalized during the first year, and program and other details finalized the following year. Workshops are planned on a cost-recovery basis, with additional support from sponsorships.

The success of workshops has largely been due to attendees who have generously contributed their time in serving in various capacities. Further information about forthcoming workshops, and general information about the Workshop series may be obtained from those listed under Contacts.


When an individual registers and pays in full for CEW, he/she becomes a member for the period starting on the first day of the workshop for which he/she has registered and ending three weeks after the last day of the following workshop. This is typically a period of just over one year.

Members will have the right to vote on corporate resolutions and during elections.

Other than the full payment of registration fees, there are no dues payable to become a member of CEW.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors for CEW is comprised of five (5) Directors.

On October 5th, 2022, the following individuals were elected to CEW’s Board of Directors for a period of three (3) years:

  • Carrie Rickwood
  • Natacha Hogan
  • Bonnie Lo

On October 6th, 2021, the following individuals were appointed to CEW’s Board of Directors for a period of three (3) years:

  • Julie Anderson
  • Lisa Taylor


The Board of Directors appoints Officers to take on the administration of CEW. The following individuals have been appointed as Officers:

OfficerPosition Term
Carrie RickwoodPresidentAt the pleasure of the Board
Lisa TaylorVice-President/ Communications OfficerAt the pleasure of the Board
Julie AndersonTreasurerAt the pleasure of the Board
Bonnie LoStudent LiasonAt the pleasure of the Board
Natacha HoganAwards Coordinator/ Vice-Communications OfficerAt the pleasure of the Board
Cameilia TavakoliGraduate Student AdvisorFebruary 2021 - January 2023
Braedon HumeniukGraduate Student AdvisorFebruary 2022 - January 2024
Julie AndersonCEW 2022 Organizing Committee Co-ChairSeptember 2019 - October 2023
Mark HansonCEW 2022 Organizing Committee Co-ChairSeptember 2019 - October 2023
Jose Rodriguez-GilCEW 2022 Organizing Committee Co-ChairSeptember 2019 - October 2023
Stacey RobinsonCEW 2023 Organizing Committee Co-ChairSeptember 2021 - October 2024
Leana van der VlietCEW 2023 Organizing Committee Co-ChairSeptember 2021 - October 2024
Rebecca DaltonCEW 2023 Organizing Committee Co-ChairSeptember 2021 - October 2024

Articles of Incorporation

As a not-for-profit corporation, CEW must meet the requirements of the new Canada Not-for-Profit Corporations Act (NFP Act).

Copies of CEW’s Articles of Incorporation, which were confirmed by the CEW membership in a vote on October 9, 2013, are available by contacting Carrie Rickwood.


By-laws describe the responsibilities and regulate the activities of CEW as a corporation. By-laws must be confirmed by the CEW membership.

Bylaw  Description
2012-1 A by-law relating to the relocation of ATW’s head office from Burlington, Ontario to Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
2013-1 A by-law relating generally to the conduct of the affairs of ATW

Annual General Meetings

Each year, the CEW Board of Directors is required to hold an Annual General Meeting (AGM) of members. Recognizing that not all members may be able to attend the AGM, an absentee voting process has been established to allow all members to exercise their right to vote in matters governing CEW’s administration.

The next AGM will be held in October 2022 at the Fort Garry Hotel, Winnipeg, MB.


Under the NFP Act, the CEW membership votes on resolutions to make decisions related to the administration of the corporation, such as creating, amending or dissolving by-laws. Copies of past member resolutions are available by contacting Carrie Rickwood. At least two resolutions for 2022 will be put to a members’ vote at the next AGM, with the option to vote by proxy. The voting by proxy form can be found here  or it can be requested by emailing carrie.ecotoxcan (at)

Resolutions Description
2022-1 (proposed) Unanimous resolution to not appoint a public accountant
2022-2 (proposed) Special resolution to change the CEW by-law to allow electronic voting by members

Standard Operating Procedure

Groups interested in hosting a future workshop are required to submit a written proposal. A standard operating procedure (SOP) exists to guide Organizing Committees. Those interested in hosting a future workshop are encouraged to contact Julie Anderson for a copy of the SOP.

Financial Statements

Under the NFP Act, effective 2014, CEW is required to publish a notice stating the availability of annual financial statements. Members will receive an electronic copy of annual financial statements upon request.